Blame The Lag

Mushroom Soup For The Pixelated Soul

This October: You Will Be Urobutched

October is here at last, and like most people I like to get into the spirit of the seasons. That means lots of horror, which I plan to indulge myself with in regards to movies (V/H/S, Paranormal Activity 4, Silent Hill 3D), television (The Walking Dead Season 3), and videogames (I want to say Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs, but that sadly seems set for 2013).

But this year’s October isn’t just about horror: The Madoka Magica movies will be hitting theaters, including a surprising simultaneous showing in several American cities. Sadly, Florida is not one of them at the time of this writing, so I can only hold out hope that the showings will expand in a theater nearby before the internet runs rampant with spoilers.

In the meantime, I can use this time to check out Urobuchi’s prior work. A little heartwarming masterpiece called Saya no Uta.

Oh yes, I’ve heard the stories. This was the story that officially gave him the nickname of Urobutcher and also cemented him as one of the best current Japanese writers. It has also been regarded as one of the most disturbing things you would have the displeasure of witnessing, and yet still receives high recommendations because of it.

So I figure now is as good a time as any to man up. Pray for my soul.

Also some new reviews:

To The Moon (PC): http://zcint.co.uk/article/ito-the-mooni-pc-review

ClaDun X2 (PC): http://zcint.co.uk/article/cladun-x2-pc-review

One comment on “This October: You Will Be Urobutched

  1. SadOnion
    October 18, 2012

    Bless your souls, Lag. Saya No Uta is always being regarded as a masterpiece that put “pure love” to the extreme. It is unearthly beautiful and grotesque at the same time.

    Oh, how rude of me, I forget to introduce myself. I’m a fan of yours, who is deeply attracted by your neat and distinct writing style and objective insights.

    Best pray to you, and have fun with your journey with Urobutcher.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2012 by in Reviews.
