Blame The Lag

Mushroom Soup For The Pixelated Soul

Retroactive Reviews: A Lot of Stuff

So yeah…once again I’ve taken a long time to update this site. Well the truth is that it’s been a bit of a slow period in the world of freelance reviews. I actually had to buy some of the more celebrated titles with my own meager scrapes (Red Dead Redemption, for instance).

I also didn’t want to add another post until I obtained a significant collection of game reviews, since none of them are really worth devoting a post toward, with the exception of Transformers (which is really a case of “For Fans Only”, not quite reaching the legitimately great status of Arkham Asylum). I have, however, begun to receive codes for this year’s Summer of XBLA, having already finished Limbo and currently working on Hydro Thunder Hurricane. It’s my hope that I’ll be able to review all the Summer titles.

Also, I was originally given the chance to review Starcraft II, a challenge I was eager to take, having never played any of Blizzard’s titles prior, and generally turning down any RTS-specific game that I’m offered. I’m not a fan of the genre, but I wanted to see what all the fuss was about.

Unfortunately, the review copy was region locked in regards to multiplayer, so that was a missed opportunity. And as usual, being told I can’t have something only compels me to want it more. Within the next day, I made way to the nearest store and purchased a copy, just like that.

And you know what the real shocker is? I actually enjoy it. A lot, in fact. Perhaps it’s the fact that I’m experimenting with a new genre of gaming that has me so enraptured, but I’ve been seriously compelled to learn the mechanics of this game (of which there are many). I’ve even got a small “building order” note taped to my printer as a handy reference.

Unsurprisingly, I’ve also been losing most of my multiplayer matches, but I also feel that I’m steadily improving with each game, and it feels like an incredible accomplishment the few times I’ve managed to out-macro my opponent. Put simply, the game brings back a host of emotions and feelings with games that I thought were deluded over the years.

In other news, I’ve now joined UK site Nintendo 3DS as a news writer, posting whatever 3DS-related stories I can find on a weekly basis. Please be sure to give the site a visit, as the people involved have put a lot of work in keeping people up to date on Nintendo’s upcoming cash dispenser. Also, they’re the only site so far who actually pays me for news.

In any event, here’s the latest (and just plain late) batch of reviews. Stay tuned for my opinions on Dragon Quest IX, Sin and Punishment: Star Successor, and more.

Limbo

3D Dot Game Heroes

Transformers: War for Cyberton

ARMA II: Operation Arrowhead

Disgaea Infinite

Deadly Premonition

Halo Reach (Preview)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2010 by in Retroactive Reviews and tagged .
