Blame The Lag

Mushroom Soup For The Pixelated Soul

Retroactive Reviews: Turtles in Time Re-Shelled, KoF XII

Had Wingman been the defining multiplayer feature of Gears of War 2, I would have given the game a much, much lower score. By far the worst mode in the game, Wingman seems to be a meeting ground for every asshole on Xbox Live to congregate. Carrying the bulk of glitches, host lag and other exploits, it’s practically impossible to win a match without resorting to such dirty tricks. I should know, as I spent the last three days and several wasted hours frantically trying to win a single match in order to acquire the achievement. You know a multiplayer mode is bullcrap when you’re the last guy standing in a round, but still lose the match because the other guy achieved a higher score before getting his comeuppance. I’m only thankful that I finally got that achievement, and that I’ll never have to suffer playing this terrible mode again. I still can’t rest easy knowing that Epic continues to make big bucks while millions of idiots continue to play through Gears 2’s broken multiplayer.

Ironic, then, that at the peak of my Epic hate is also the moment they send me a review code for Shadow Complex, a week before its official release. I’ve been continuously receiving some uplifting hate-mail from my friend’s list over this privilege, and it only took an hour of playing to see why: This game is, in a word, spectacular, and is a prime candidate for Game of the Year. I could go on about what makes Shadow Complex so great, but that’s what the review is for. All I’ll say at this point is that you most certainly must purchase it the moment it’s available.

I’ve also been given a review code for Trials HD, which I still haven’t tried, but heard great things about (including that it’s frustrating, but the good kind of frustrating). I also traded a spare Splosion Man code for Marvel vs Capcom 2, thus rounding out the Summer of Xbox Live Arcade, and should entitle me to 800 MS points as part of their promotion.

In the meantime, I’ve got a couple more reviews for you today. Enjoy.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time Re-Shelled

The King of Fighters XII

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2009 by in Retroactive Reviews and tagged .
