Blame The Lag

Mushroom Soup For The Pixelated Soul

Review Roundup

So I figured after my last review, things would quiet down for a while. I was fine with that, since it would give me time to get re-acquainted with my Xbox 360. In addition to continuing my sessions with Fallout 3 (a major timesink) and Tales of Vesperia (a solid RPG), I’ve also been itching to replay Bioshock, this time on the hardest setting and with no respawning (go Achievements!).

But I was wrong. In less than a week I have been flooded with new titles to review, as well as the news of other forthcoming games. It’s almost maddening just sorting out my calendar to fit these games in. Needless to say, if you’ve enjoyed my work so far, you’ll be in for a treat in the coming weeks.

In no particular order, I will be reviewing:

The Munchables (Wii): I took a look at the cover and immediately thought “what did I do to deserve this?”, but after some youtube trailers, it looks like it could be a decent Katamari-style game.

Battlefield 1943 (PSN): A downloadable code for this game was sent to me late at night, at the height of my Xbox Live re-kindling. I shrugged at first, having never played a Battlefield game, as well as being less than eager to switch off my 360, but a couple of minutes was enough to leave me pleasantly surprised.

Trine (PC): This game’s been getting quite a bit of hype, and I was fortunate enough to try an exclusive demo. It’s got an interesting mechanic and charm, but I need to play through most of it before I can make a final judgment call.

Cogs (PC): This one’s a bit of a late bloomer, as I goofed thinking my download code was for a preview build, when in fact it was the complete game. Regardless, I’ll try to add a bit of awareness, since it is a cute and simple little puzzle game.

Monkey Island SE (PC): Confession: I have never played a Monkey Island game. My only experience with LucasArts is Maniac Mansion on the NES (which I loved). Needless to say I’m excited about being able to finally try it, and with a fresh coat of paint to boot.

Final Fantasy IV The After Years (Wii): Just when I began to wonder when the next episodes would hit, they go and drop three new episodes under my lap. I still wonder if I can give each episode an individual review without repeating myself, but I’m up for the challenge.

The King of Fighters XII (PS3): This has been an incredible year for fighting games. In addition to Street Fighter IV, Marvel vs Capcom 2, BlazBlue (which I recently acquired), we have the HD revamp of the KoF series to look forward to. Outside of Capcom vs SNK 2, I don’t have much experience with the franchise, but this game looks like a great entry point, as well as looking gorgeous.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time Re-Shelled: This one’s a no-brainer for anyone who’s ever been to an Arcade. The first TMNT arcade game is still one of my favorite games to play constantly, and this 3D remake of Turtles in Time has me drooling in anticipation. It’s too bad that it apparently will not include the extra stages and bosses from the SNES version, but the footage I’ve seen is good enough for me to overlook that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2009 by in Uncategorized.
