Blame The Lag

Mushroom Soup For The Pixelated Soul

Prospective Previews: Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children Complete Trailer

Welcome to the first Final Fantasy-related blog post of the new year. It was only a matter of time, especially considering the sweet new FFXIII trailer released just this week.

But I’m not talking about that just yet, because a last minute new trailer for Advent Children Complete was released today. Gotta focus on my priorities, you know.

Unfortunately, NA PCs may stutter in agony under Japan’s superior bandwith powers, but I’ve got you covered: Here is a direct download of the above trailer. You can also nab the trailer (along with the newest FFXIII trailer) in the PS3’s Japanese Store. If you need info on how to set up a Japanese account (a serious must for PS3 owners), just look here.

This was by far the best trailer for the movie, showcasing lots of new, action crazy scenes. You thought the last movie was overdone in that department? Nomura didn’t, that’s why he added motorcycle vs helicopter fights, or bazookas that can take out entire bridges, and buildings being effortlessly sliced in half like butter….being sliced in half.

Anyway, I took some screencaps as well, which you can check out below. I’ve sorted them about relating to the new scenes shown:

1. Elena POV (and FPS)

It isn't fair. NA players thought I was dead for ten years!

It isn't fair. North American players thought I was dead for ten years!

“Elena was in this movie?” That was a common question going around for people who didn’t understand the incredibly rushed opening to Advent Children, in which Elena and Tseng are investigating the Northern Crater where Cloud and company had their final battle with Sephiroth. Reno and Rude are hanging up top in a helicopter while their (apparently disposable) leader and rookie Turk are taken out by three gun-touting enemies….

Somebody liked Spider-Man 3

Somebody watched Spider-Man 3.

When I heard that AC:C would have new, re-done footage, one of the first things I thought of was an extended version of the opening scene from Elena’s point of view. Maybe she had a portable camera that would get all shakey once the shooting started, followed by a quick shot of the three brothers being born from Sephiroth’s remains.

Well, look at that, they actually included it. If you can look past the swooning fangirls, the naked introduction of Kadaj and his bros is done rather well, and a bit creepy.

People will die, starting tonight. I'm a man of my word. Hoo Ha Ha Ha Ha!

2. Motorcycle vs Helicopter

Mortorcylces don't work that way!

Mortorcylces don't work that way!

As if the original motorcycle chase between Cloud and the clones wasn’t exaggerated enough, we now have an additional sequence where the Turks give spikey some air support. Unfortunately, the Seph brothers are now equipped with machine guns mounted on their bikes, something Nomura really, really, really wanted to have in the original movie.

3. More Tifa! Woo!

If she was in her old outfit, you'd totally be getting a panty shot right now.

If she was in her old outfit, you'd totally be getting a panty shot right now.

As much as I’m hoping for new romantic, talkie moments between the two conflicted lovers, any new scenes of Tifa in general is only a plus for me. Tifa’s fight in the first movie quickly grabbed the attention of fans and newcomers alike for its beautifully choreographed martial arts, but unfortunately she took a backseat for the remainder of the film afterwards.

You think this'll stop me? I've taken out a bigger crowd in conventions! My hands are drenched in fanboy blood!!

You think this'll stop me? I've taken on a bigger crowd in conventions! My hands are drenched in fanboy blood!!

No worries, because FFVII’s leading heroine (that’s right, I went there) has been given some extra fight scenes, holding off an army of Phantom Beasts to protect her adopted son. It’ll take a lot more than a single Mega Flare to bring this lady down.

Here's where I'll be testing the new ragdoll physics for the new sce-holy crap aaaaaaghhhhhh!

Here's where I'll be testing the new ragdoll physics for the new sce-holy crap aaaaaaghhhhhh!

Two Mega Flares, on the other hand….

I usually don't get this low brow on the blog, but I couldn't resist.

I usually don't get this lowbrow on the blog, but I couldn't resist.

Uh, moving on…

4. More of the Other Guys! Woo!

Why the hell ain't Square giving me my own game!? Aren't I appealing enough to a mass audience? What a load of &%$* and *@%$*, bunch of mother %*#@$ up the @#$

Why the hell ain't Square giving me my own game!? Aren't I appealing enough to a mass audience? What a load of &%$* and *@%$*, bunch of mother %*#@$ up the @#$

Another plus is some extended fighting with the other party members, who unfortunately had their screentime kept to a minimum in order to develop the most popular characters first. Here we can see some extra fight scenes, but it’s unknown just how much this will increase their total screentime in the new cut.

Looks like he ate some ice cream in a hurry. Anti-fans will probably substitute that with something more NSFW.

Looks like he ate some ice cream in a hurry. Anti-fans will probably substitute that with something more NSFW.


5. Case of Denzel?

And I find it kind of funny, I find it kind of sad. The dreams in which I'm dying are the best I ever had...

And I find it kind of funny, I find it kind of sad. The dreams in which I'm dying are the best I ever had...

Most surprising for me in the new trailer is some new footage with Denzel, which I immediately recognized from the Case of Denzel short story, which was part of the “On The Way To A Smile” novel miniseries released alongside AC. Is this just a quick flashback to show how Denzel and Cloud first met (something sorely needed, considering the slight obscurity of the novels), or could it be a full fledged additional short film?

Wasn't there a movie with a name like this? It sucked, right? Pretty sure it sucked.

Wasn't there a movie with a name like this? It sucked, right? Pretty sure it sucked.

It is my sincere hope that it ends up being the latter, because it opens up the possibility of the wonderfully written Case of Tifa short story being included as a bonus short as well. Seriously, go read it if you haven’t yet.

6. Blowin’ Up Bridges

Self explanatory.

Remain calm, citizens. The Turks are here to protect and serve you.

Remain calm, citizens. The Turks are here to protect you.

Uh...don't worry, that was Shelbyville.

Uh...don't worry, that was Shelbyville.

7. Slicin’ Up Buildings

Also needs no explanation.

Take that, buildings! You think you're so hot, crashing and falling on my head! Suck it!

Take that, buildings! You think you're so hot, crashing and falling on my head! Suck it!

It is oddly similar to the final area in Kingdom Hearts II, in which Sora also dispatches of falling buildings at ease. And that was with a key.


8. Cloud vs That Other Guy

To the surprise of no one, the final, epic one on one battle between Cloud and Sephiroth will be further extended to include more…

Feathers!

Feathers!

Blood!

Blood!

Cat Eyes!

Cat Eyes!

Despair!

Despair!

Limit Breaks!

Limit Breaks!

Anyway, the movie’s due out in April, and supposedly the English cast has already recorded the new lines. Given that knowledge, it’s inconceivable for Sony and Square to take an 8 month long gap between the Japanese and American releases like they did with the original DVD. I can’t claim to know all the stupid decisions they make, though, so all I can do is hope it doesn’t take as long.

In closing, take a look at this final picture.

Take a look at Cloud's right eye. His right, not yours.

Take a look at Cloud's right eye. His right, not yours.

One comment on “Prospective Previews: Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children Complete Trailer

  1. astra28
    August 28, 2009

    Thanks a lot for this overview. I love your writing so much – it’s hilarious!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2009 by in Prospective Previews and tagged , .
